Environmental Review Toolkit
Accelerating Project Delivery

FHWA Office of Project Development and Environmental Review (HEPE)

Contacts

FHWA Office of Project Development and Environmental Review (HEPE)
FHWA Resource Center Environment Technical Services Team


HEPE Mission
To advance environmental stewardship and streamlining for FHWA-funded projects through application of National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) principles and the NEPA process at the project level.

Mailing Address
1200 New Jersey Ave, SE
Washington, DC 20590

Contact Title Phone Number E-Mail Address
Emily Biondi Director 202-366-9482 Emily.Biondi@dot.gov
Latdavanh Reese Program Assistant 202-366-2065 Latdavanh.Reese@dot.gov
Project Development Team
The Project Development Team is the focal point for oversight and management of activities that provides policy direction and guidance to our FHWA field offices, State DOTs, and local partners in carrying out our responsibilities under the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) and related environmental laws, as well as, for technical assistance in project related environmental streamlining, stewardship, and interdisciplinary decision-making.
Harold Peaks Project Development Team Leader 202-366-1598 Harold.Peaks@dot.gov
Andrew Brunner Environmental Protection Specialist 202-366-4651 Andrew.Brunner@dot.gov
David Cohen Environmental Protection Specialist 202-366-8531 David.Cohen@dot.gov
James Gavin Environmental Protection Specialist 202-366-1473 James.Gavin@dot.gov
Owen Lindauer Project Development Specialist, Archeologist 202-366-2655 Owen.Lindauer@dot.gov
Neel Vanikar Project Development Specialist 202-366-2068 Neel.Vanikar@dot.gov
Program and Policy Development Team
The Program and Policy Development Team coordinates and manages the Office Research Funds and Policy activities; conducts strategic planning and performance management; and facilitates and directs Federal Agency, National Organization Stakeholders, and FHWA/DOT inter-office coordination on initiatives and emerging issues.
Felicia Alexander Program and Policy Development Team Leader 202-366-2851 Felicia.Alexander@dot.gov
Kreig Larson Project Development Specialist 202-366-2056 Kreig.Larson@dot.gov
Marisel Lopez-Cruz Environmental Protection Specialist 202-493-0356 Marisel.Lopez-Cruz@dot.gov
Carolyn Nelson Environmental Protection Specialist 202-366-2047 Carolyn.Nelson@dot.gov
Deirdre Remley Environmental Protection Specialist 202-366-0524 Deirdre.Remley@dot.gov
David Williams Environmental Protection Specialist 202-366-4074 David.Williams@dot.gov
Project Mitigation Team
The Project Mitigation Team is responsible for the development of FHWA policies, regulations, procedures, and guidelines and the delivery of technical assistance related to natural resource protection and consideration of ecological impacts in the transportation decision-making process.
Damaris Santiago Project Mitigation Team Leader 202-366-2034 Damaris.Santiago@dot.gov
Daniel Buford Ecologist 202-366-8168 Daniel.Buford@dot.gov
David Clarke Environmental Protection Specialist,
Federal Preservation Officer
202-366-2060 David.Clarke@dot.gov
Susan Jones Highway Engineer 202-493-2139 Susan.Jones@dot.gov
Mike Ruth Ecologist 202-366-9509 Mike.Ruth@dot.gov

For questions or feedback on this subject, please contact David Cohen at 202-366-8531.
For general questions or web problems, please send feedback to the web administrator.

HEP Home Planning Environment Real Estate

Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000