Environmental Review Toolkit
Accelerating Project Delivery

FHWA Office of Project Development and Environmental Review (HEPE)

Contacts

FHWA Office of Project Development and Environmental Review (HEPE)
FHWA Resource Center Environment Technical Services Team


HEPE Mission
To advance environmental stewardship and streamlining for FHWA-funded projects through application of National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) principles and the NEPA process at the project level.

Mailing Address
1200 New Jersey Ave, SE
Washington, DC 20590

Project Development Support
For project development support to the FHWA Division Offices, HEPE is organized into four teams to correspond with the four DFS geographic regions, as shown in the table. Each team will be led by a core (C) Project Development Specialist (PDS) and championed by a HEPE Team Leader. The PDS team organization will make multiple staff members available as contacts for each Division office within the DFS Region to provide maximum coverage

Contact Title Phone Number E-Mail Address
Office Director
Gerald Solomon Director 202-366-2037 Gerald.Solomon@dot.gov
PDS Team: North DFS
Harold Peaks (TL) Project Development Team Leader 202-366-1598 Harold.Peaks@dot.gov
Neel Vanikar (C) Project Development Specialist 202-366-2068 Neel.Vanikar@dot.gov
Mike Ruth Ecologist 202-366-9509 Mike.Ruth@dot.gov
PDS Team: South DFS
Harold Peaks (TL) Project Development Team Leader 202-366-1598 Harold.Peaks@dot.gov
MaryAnn Naber (C) Federal Preservation Officer 202-366-2060 Maryann.Naber@dot.gov
Daniel Buford Ecologist 202-366-8168 Daniel.Buford@dot.gov
Susan Jones Highway Engineer 202-493-2139 Susan.Jones@dot.gov
Damaris Santiago Environmental Protection Specialist 202-366-2034 Damaris.Santiago@dot.gov
PDS Team: Mid-America DFS
Marlys Osterhues (TL) Project Mitigation Team Leader 202-366-2052 Marlys.Osterhues@dot.gov
Owen Lindauer (C) Project Development Specialist, Archeologist 202-366-2655 Owen.Lindauer@dot.gov
Andrew Brunner Environmental Protection Specialist 202-366-4651 Andrew.Brunner@dot.gov
Marisel Lopez-Cruz Environmental Protection Specialist 202-493-0356 Marisel.Lopez-Cruz@dot.gov
Carolyn Nelson Environmental Protection Specialist 202-366-2047 Carolyn.Nelson@dot.gov
PDS Team: West DFS
Marlys Osterhues (TL) Project Mitigation Team Leader 202-366-2052 Marlys.Osterhues@dot.gov
Kreig Larson (C) Project Development Specialist 202-366-2056 Kreig.Larson@dot.gov
Deirdre Remley Environmental Protection Specialist 202-366-0524 Deirdre.Remley@dot.gov
Marcel Tchaou Civil Engineer 202-366-4196 Marcel.Tchaou@dot.gov
U.S. map colored to show the FHWA DFS regions: North - ME, VT, NH, MA, NY, CT, RI, PA, NJ, OH, MD, DE, and DC; South - KY, WV, VA, TN, NC, SC, AR, LA, MS, AL, GA, FL, and PR; Mid-America - ND, SD, NE, KS, OK, TX, MN, IA, MO, WI, IL, MI, and IN; and West - AK, WA, OR, CA, ID, MT, NV, WY, UT, CO, AZ, NM, and HI.

For questions or feedback on this subject, please contact Damaris Santiago at 202-366-2034. For general questions or web problems, please send feedback to the web administrator.

HEP Home Planning Environment Real Estate

Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000