skip to main content
Environmental Review Toolkit
Environmental Staff Directories

FHWA Office of Project Development and Environmental Review (HEPE)

HEPE Mission
To advance environmental stewardship and streamlining for FHWA-funded projects through application of National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) principles and the NEPA process at the project level.

Mailing Address
1200 New Jersey Ave, SE
Washington, DC 20590

Contact Title Phone Number E-Mail Address
Karen Perritt Acting Office Director 202-366-9066
Project Development Team
The Project Development Team is the focal point for oversight and management of activities that provides policy direction and guidance to our FHWA field offices, State DOTs, and local partners in carrying out our responsibilities under the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) and related environmental laws, as well as, for technical assistance in project related environmental streamlining, stewardship, and interdisciplinary decision-making.
Colleen Vaughn Project Development Team Lead 202-366-7098
Theresa Claxton Environmental Protection Specialist 615-781-5778
Megan Cogburn Environmental Protection Specialist 202-366-2056
David Cohen Environmental Protection Specialist 202-366-8531
John Foley Environmental Protection Specialist 202-366-0524
Owen Lindauer Project Development Specialist, Archeologist 202-366-2655
Neel Vanikar Project Development Specialist 202-366-2068
Robert Washington Environmental Protection Specialist 202-366-4651
Program and Policy Development Team
The Program and Policy Development Team coordinates and manages the Office Research Funds and Policy activities; conducts strategic planning and performance management; and facilitates and directs Federal Agency, National Organization Stakeholders, and FHWA/DOT inter-office coordination on initiatives and emerging issues.
James Gavin Program and Policy Development Team Leader 202-366-1473
Lee Ellen Carter Environmental Protection Specialist 202-366-0345
Hope Gerstler Environmental Protection Specialist 202-366-0799
Marisel Lopez-Cruz Environmental Protection Specialist 407-867-6402
Nichole Neal Environmental Protection Specialist 202-366-5091
Melissa Toni Environmental Protection Specialist 518-431-8867
Project Mitigation Team
The Project Mitigation Team is responsible for the development of FHWA policies, regulations, procedures, and guidelines and the delivery of technical assistance related to natural resource protection and consideration of ecological impacts in the transportation decision-making process.
Anne Rowe Project Mitigation Team Leader 202-366-4196
Audra Bandy Environmental Protection Specialist 202-366-2034
Daniel Buford Ecologist 202-366-8168
David Clarke Federal Preservation Officer 202-366-2060
Richard Darden Ecologist 202-366-9509
Gregory Granato Civil Engineer 202-366-7674
Gillian O’Doherty Ecologist 202-366-2052